LifeSpringHarrisonLeaders

"I am the vine; you are the branches." (John 15:5)

Choosing Your Next Study

I remember the days of trying to get my young children to agree on what movie to watch for family night. It seemed that the longer the discussion went on, the less satisfied everyone was with the decision. It can feel similar when we ask out group “So what do you want to study next?” Choosing the next thing to study can be messy. No matter how hard you try, it seems like someone is dissatisfied unless everyone agrees on the same thing (which almost never happens). So what do we do about it?

 

What I do is ask for suggestions before we actually need something and then listen to what people talk about. Doing it before the current study ends gives me time to think and helps eliminate some of the potential “hurt feelings” when you don’t choose something that someone in particular wanted.

 

When it comes time to actually decide, I’ll pick something that:

  1. I like – If I don’t like it, I won’t be excited about teaching it. It’s okay to say no. Another option for a particular study is to let someone else lead discussion for that study! 
  2. Meets people’s needs
  3. Doesn’t exclude people – Parsing the Greek in Hebrews doesn’t work if you have a new Christian in your group (That’s actually true for most Christians J including me).

 Once I’ve decided, I tell the group: “Here’s what we’re doing”. I’ve found over the years that if I’m excited, generally, they get excited too.

 

The danger I’ve found is that if I try to make it too democratic, people end up less satisfied than if I just decide based on what I’m hearing. It’s important to remember that if you as the leader like what you’re going to be teaching, it usually works out well for the group!

Good Choosing!

April 4, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

