LifeSpringHarrisonLeaders

"I am the vine; you are the branches." (John 15:5)

You are being watched!

Do as I say, not as I do. Did you ever accuse your parents of this growing up. I did – I never had the courage to say it aloud, but I definitely noticed that what they did didn’t always agree with what they said. As I matured and went out into the world, I began to appreciate just how wonderful and surprisingly consistent they were when I compared my first manager and then my first employer to them.

As teachers and leaders, we are often looked up to by people we don’t even know are watching. Even some of the small things we do can influence people which is both good and bad. It’s good because the things we do can influence people for good – the ways we spend our time, energy and money will be seen by others and at times emulated. What a wonderful opportunity to do something good without having to do anything but live!

It can be bad because we are human and will undoubtedly fail at times. However, even in our failures, God can use us. How we handle ourselves in those times of failure can also influence people for good. An open and repentant heart will not only lead you closer to God, but will also let others see how to handle their failures as well.

December 2, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

