LifeSpringHarrisonLeaders

"I am the vine; you are the branches." (John 15:5)

Risk and Trust

I’ve been thinking this week how about the dynamic between risk and fear is very different for the Christian. We take risks like everyone else, but what role does fear play for us? As we face challenges and risks, we put our trust in God, instead of ourselves. Instead of depending on our ability to pull it off, we put ourselves before him and trust Him to pull it off and pull us through.

Does that mean we are never fearful? Speaking for myself, I know that there are times when I forget that I have asked God to take charge of my life and I just keep on driving. Worn down, tired and sleepy I am unwilling to relinquish the wheel or ask for help and I just keep working at ‘it’, whatever ‘it’ is.

As I pray though, I’ll frequently remember: “Oh yeah lord, this thing I’ve been fighting with – would you mind helping me out with it?” I should know better, but in spite of my life experience, I still find myself amazed at how often He comes through simply and quietly with answers. When I am wise, I realize how lucky and blessed I am.

Risk and Trust: What risks are you considering? Is it something that you can trust God with?

July 27, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

