LifeSpringHarrisonLeaders

"I am the vine; you are the branches." (John 15:5)

How Busy are You?

I heard Bill Hybels talking about leadership challenge recently. I’m not sure what I was expecting to hear, but this wasn’t it. He started with the question “What is your current leadership challenge?” On a scale of 1-10, where 1 is unchallenged, and 10 is overly challenged, what would you say your challenge level is? Take a moment now and answer it for yourself – don’t peek ahead!

I could see some people anxious to answer the question as 10 or 11, maybe even a 12!  Some of us reveled in the idea of being good diligent and hard workers. Bill went on to explain that this kind of sustained challenge level is not valuable… He explained that a) sustaining extreme levels of challenge produce fatigue and burn out more than productivity and b) setting that kind of example for those we lead is dangerous and not wise stewardship…

After taking the wind out my sails a bit, he went on to say lots of good stuff, including the problems with being underchallenged (I’ll save that for another post). The thing that stuck with me was this idea that leaders perform their best when their challenge level is just a little above ‘appropriately challenged’. In other words, I don’t need to feel pushed around by all of things and activities going on in my life. That fact of the matter is that if I do, I am probably not performing at my best. Don’t I owe God my best?

August 10, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

