LifeSpringHarrisonLeaders

"I am the vine; you are the branches." (John 15:5)

Stick to the Basics

I’ve been deliberately seeking God’s direction for a new initiative in my life for a little while now. As I have searched and prayed, I have found myself reading Paul’s closing comments in I Thessalonians numerous times. He tells them what God’s will is for them in just a few sentences. I think I’m being reminded that whatever programming we decide to do, whatever challenges I choose to take on, or whatever choices I make, that I need to be sure that I stick to the basics first and then build from there. If the basics aren’t there, the rest won’t matter…

I Thessalonians 5::12-18

12 Now we ask you, brothers, to respect those who work hard among you, who are over you in the Lord and who admonish you. 13 Hold them in the highest regard in love because of their work. Live in peace with each other. 14 And we urge you, brothers, warn those who are idle, encourage the timid, help the weak, be patient with everyone. 15 Make sure that nobody pays back wrong for wrong, but always try to be kind to each other and to everyone else.

16 Be joyful always; 17 pray continually; 18 give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.

October 19, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

