LifeSpringHarrisonLeaders

"I am the vine; you are the branches." (John 15:5)

Changing Focus

There’s been a pretty consistent theme in my prayer life for some time now. I ask God to forgive me for making life all about me. In my times of reflection, I realize how I make myself look better with little tweaks to the things I say and do. I find that I am always working the angles on this and a lot of it happens on a sub-conscious level. A lifetime of practice has taught me how to do it without even thinking!

As I pray and look for life change, I realize that I need to take some steps to change my focus. I want to be more concerned with what God thinks of me than other people. I ask Him to make me work the angles so that He gets the glory. I want those tweaks to contribute to His image and not mine. I want to be a part of the work, but I need to remember that He is the center. Based on my progress so far I suspect this is something I’ll work on for the rest of my life. Like in so many other things, I am a work in progress, but in trying to live it out, I find a real and concrete step I can take to truly change my focus.

November 30, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

