LifeSpringHarrisonLeaders

"I am the vine; you are the branches." (John 15:5)

Giving In

Cheryl and I watched The Lord of the Rings trilogy recently. Good vs. evil is and always has been the human struggle – I watch and I see the some of the tragic characters knowing that many of them were once good. Mirroring real life, some were even strong and vital for the cause of good in the past! What I take away from it is that I need to stand firm – like a soldier on the front line of a battle. Satan will tempt with little compromises, “no one will get hurt” sins (is there even such a thing?). He uses our pride to tempt us to cut corners – we’re good enough, strong enough, smart enough to handle it – until we aren’t and by then it can be too late.

No one wants to become one of those tragic characters. What I remind myself is that evil overcame them not as a tidal wave overwhelms, but more like a frog in a pot. Little by little he chips away at our fortitude and we allow what we shouldn’t – we give in just a little until one day we realize just how far we’ve strayed and see a mountain climb ahead of us just to get back to where we were… and then Satan uses that view to discourage us.

So before I stray any further away, the question for me today is: Where am I “giving in” or compromising just a little right now?

December 14, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

