LifeSpringHarrisonLeaders

"I am the vine; you are the branches." (John 15:5)

Stoking the Fire

bunny

This guy created quite a stir in my neighborhood recently. As I was mowing my front yard, I got too close to a bunny nest and 6 baby bunnies scattered running from the hole in different directions. After some great advice from Cheryl, I quickly herded most of them to some bushes near the bunny hole, but this guy got scared and ran into the storm sewer. It was sad to look down and see him just sitting there… in the dark, no idea what happened, no hope and no one to rescue him.

I mentioned to my neighbor Ed, that I was thinking about how to get him out and Ed dove in immediately pulling the grate off the storm sewer as we formulated a plan. Within minutes we had gathered some improvised tools and a small crowd looked on as we leaned over the edge of the sewer. About 5 minutes later he hopped out of Ed’s fishing net into the grass just inches from the bunny hole and we snapped the picture above. Yay!!!

During that 5 minutes, as I looked at the collection of people who flew instantly into action over this poor baby bunny, Matthew 9:36 came to mind.
When he saw the crowds, he had compassion on them, because they were harassed and helpless, like sheep without a shepherd.

I felt that I understood how Jesus might have felt in that moment. So many people without Jesus are a lot like this baby bunny. Unaware of the danger they are really in – stuck in a sewer with no one to help them out of the terrible mess they have gotten themselves into. It stoked a fire within me – we need to feel this way about the lost. Their hope is Jesus.

Has your fire been stoked recently? What did that look like?

May 30, 2014 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

