LifeSpringHarrisonLeaders

"I am the vine; you are the branches." (John 15:5)

Addiction to Happiness

I was talking with someone close to me recently who had just lost their job. He was telling me that he just doesn’t know how to be happy right now… As we talked further, we realized that for him, being happy was an expectation from life. As we talked more about seasons of life and some of the differences between happiness and peace, I felt like it was starting to sink in that happiness isn’t always possible and that expecting it was a Satan thing. For myself, I’ve come to peace with the fact that sometimes it just stinks to be me.    

I can reflect back on my life and see where my expectation and then further pursuit of happiness has gotten me in trouble. As we talked about his situation, we saw examples of how the expectation and pursuit of being happy has caused trouble in his life as well. It made me think once again just how much I need a meaningful relationship with God and how powerful that is. That relationship makes peace and contentment a constant in my life  and they are so much stronger than mere happiness! To be addicted to something so fleeting is hard…

June 27, 2014 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

